Thursday, 31 October 2013

Artifact.

Today I Finally, finally, finally got 30 Seconds to Mars' Artifact in the mail (just waited 2 months for that motherfucker ~excuse my language~). I already saw it once, with commentary and that time it already struck me with how amazing it was. But now I saw the whole thing right, you know, with commentary you don't really see what exactly is happening or hear what exactly is said in the movie (It actually is a documentary but yeah), and it struck me with lightning. Amazing. That's all I can say.
Jared Leto is a legend.

I already adored that guy before this, I can say without hesitation that he is my absolute idol, but he just made it so much more true with this documentary.
He isn't my idol as in I want to do what he does, like, being a musician and stuff. More of an idol as in I want to be like him.
Jared Leto does everything. Everything.
He doesn't only make music, he writes everything as well. He is the whole brain behind the band. He does everything that is important to keep this band rolling. Besides that, he is an actor. He directs short movies and documentary's, and he produces them. He draws, he paints. He does everything.
And everything he does ~makes~ is amazing. Every time it is extraordinary. It hits you with lightning.
He is so creative it's unreal.

I want to be like him. I want to have the courage to try new things, make them my own and make amazing art with them. I want to see the world like he does. I want to be able to make art the way he does. With anything that comes to hand.

Let's stop glorifying Jared Leto now. He is amazing. I think I proved my point. ~not evens sorry for that though~

What I actually started writing this blog for, is to let you know Artifact is a documentary you have to see. It's so amazing and beautiful and inspiring. Even if you don't like 30 Seconds to Mars' music in particular. See it. Love it. It'll open your eyes on the music world. How things really work around there. Give you some understanding about some things bands do. This made me have so much more respect for all they do.

Artifact is truly Inspirational. A documentary everyone who likes music has to have seen.
Let's leave it there.

Have a nice life
Xoxo
Winnie.

PS. I other news, tomorrow I'll have my first 'German Sunday' at work. This means the shopping center will be filled with germans and it will be extremely busy. I'm nervous. Oh dear. Let's see how that goes.

Sunday, 27 October 2013

Inspiration of the day.

As I've said before on this blog, an artist I absolutely love and get a lot of inspiration out of, is wirrow. He's an english artist that makes amazing illustrations of fantasy figures and I love his work to bits.

Now this week, he showed us another illustration set and I knew immediately I had to do something with it.














Full illustration set

Mostly picture made my mind do stuff. I NEEDED to do something with this. I needed to make this for myself. I was just amazed by how such simple forms can make a great illustration. It doesn't have to be really technical and complicated to be good.
That's what wirrow keeps showing me. And when I saw this picture, I knew I just had to do something with it now.

So I made this illustration for myself. I just copied it, really, nothing strange, but that's not the end of it. I want to make a lot more things inspired by this. And not only this one. This made my head sparkle. It's amazing.

This made me feel creative again, the kind of creative I've missed the last while. And that's a really good thing, since tomorrow a new period at school is starting and I can use all the creativity and inspiration I can find.

Have a nice life
Xoxo
Winnie.

Find wirrow:
Website
Instagram
Twitter

Monday, 21 October 2013

The weight of living concerts.

Bastille is, at the moment, one of my favorite bands of all. Their album Bad Blood is amazing and I can't wait 'till I get the deluxe kind of album that comes out 25th november, which I pre-ordered.

And when I see that one of my favorite bands is coming to my country for a concert, of course I have to go there. But this time it's not as easy as just buying a ticket and patiently-but-not-so-patiently waiting 'till the 12th of March is finally upon us.

Firstly it's on a wednesday. This is just a little problem, with which I can work, this happens more with concerts, so that's not as bad.
The biggest problem is that it falls in the middle of the period I'm going to have internship for school. The problem with this is, I don't know what times and days this will exactly happen, which means planning a concert (or anything, really) in this period is really hard, since you just don't know what to expect.

This means I'm going to have to wait 'till things clear up and I can see if it's possible, and hope they will maybe plan another concert as well, one I will be able to attend.
Because I really want to see them.
I really do.

Have a nice life
Xoxo
Winnie.

P.S. For more tourdates, visit their website. Here, you can also buy their album Bad Blood or pre-order All This Bad Blood, a sort of deluxe edition.

Sunday, 20 October 2013

Leather dilemma.

I don't know if you can call them a Guilty Pleasure, but I'm just going to call them, because I don't know how else to say it and I kind of feel like they are.

Even I see a Lot of pictures of women wearing leather leggings on Pinterest, I still feel like they aren't really socially accepted.
But I would LOVE to own a pair. It's this thing that I dream of having, but I don't really know if I would actually dare to wear.

I see so many pictures of these amazing outfits with leather leggings and then I think 'yeah, I can pull that off, that will actually look pretty cool' but then I see a pair hanging in the store and I think 'I don't know if I should do it, people will think I'm crazy'. I can't actually buy a pair.

But then I see pics like this again.





















And the only thing I can think is: 'yes, that is what I want to look like. That's so cool.'
So I don't know what to do. This is my forever ongoing dilemma.

Leather pants, yay or nay??????!

Have a nice life,
Xoxo
Winnie.


Wednesday, 16 October 2013

Now I'm sure.

You would think I would get used to this at some point. You would think I'd just stop listening to my head in these kind of situations.
But no.
It's the same every single time.

Well, I didn't need to worry about going back to work today. Everything went well. No one said anything about monday, other than "sorry we put you up with so much work on your first day". Of course there were no problems. I didn't do a bad job on monday. It's kind of a miracle I didn't panic, standing there with a whole line of people and doing maths from the top of my head. If you think about it, I should be proud of myself.

And now I am.

I went there today and nothing went wrong. I like it there. I found a nice job. Now I am sure about that. I can do this. Pretty well, actually.

So there  go all my worries of monday. Now I can kind of start looking forward to thursday next week, my next day of work. Because this isn't bad at all.

Have a nice life
Xoxo
Winnie.

Tuesday, 15 October 2013

Not sure.

Well, that wasn't the worst day of my life. But it certainly wasn't the best one either.

It started off all nice and easy, just some explanations about how things work over there, codes to get trough doors and a little guided tour around the business. I was feeling good.
But then I got thrown in the deep. I was put behind the pay desk. It started of as just an explanation about how everything works, so I've seen it once already.
But I ended up staying there for at least 3 hours.
3 hours.
3 hours of taking orders, settle them, give back change (for which I had to do maths ~obviously~ but this had to go fast, and oh my god I'm not good at maths. Omg.) ánd make coffees and everything.
On my first day.
My first EVER day at a job. Working at a pay desk. Working with money professionally.

I'm terrified I did something wrong and there will be something wrong with the cash register and I'll be fired wednesday, my next day of work.
I'm terrified I screwed everything up, on my first day, because they just simply threw me in the deep.
But we'll see. I did my best, and if that's not good enough. Then fine.

This is what I keep telling myself. Not sure if I believe it, yet.

So yeah. Not sure what to think of it yet.
I'll keep you updated.

Have a nice life
Xoxo
Winnie.

P.S. I've just (literally just) finished ALL of Gossip Girl. I watched it all from beginning to end, every single episode and now I've goon trough all. And now I don't know what to do anymore. God, that series is amazing. If you haven't yet, watch it. Now. It's amazing. Once you start you can't stop and once you finish it you just want to roll up in al ball not face anything because you feel like you have just lost all your friends in a terrible car crash. (No, I'm not exaggerating. ~ok maybe a little~ but no. I'm not. I'm done. With everything.) So. Watch it. That's all I can say. It's the best.
Xoxo.

Sunday, 13 October 2013

Fear.

Something I've wanted for so long. Get a job and earn my own money.
And now I got it, now it's becoming real, I'm scared.

Tomorrow I have my first day at my new, first ever real job and I'm so scared. I don't know what to expect. I don't know what will be expected of me. I don't know if the people there will like me. I don't know if I will like the people there. I hate this fear, I try everything to get rid of it. But it doesn't seem to be working and it's making me crazy. Tomorrow, at 10:45 I'm going to have to leave my house to go to this job and I don't know how I will ever be able to do that. I'm afraid everything will go wrong and it will be the worst day of my life.
Even though I know I will be alright. I will maybe even like it, have a really good first day of my future.

This is what my head always does to me. It makes me crazy. To the point that I don't want to do anything anymore. I just want to stay in my bed, eating, watching Gossip Girl. Peacefully and safe. But I can't. I have to face these kind of things, no matter how scary they are.
And when I do, at the end of the day, I'm happy I did.

I'll keep you updated.

Have a nice life
Xoxo
Winnie.

Thursday, 10 October 2013

Small steps.

Mijn leven.
Niet het meest interessante om over te schrijven, niet het meest interessante om over te lezen.

Er gebeurt niet bijster veel in het leven van Winnie, naast naar school gaan. Als ik niet op school ben, zit ik lekker thuis, preferably op mijn kamer, achter mijn laptop. Niet echt heel entertaining om over te schrijven. Toch wil ik een blog bijhouden. Ik heb zoveel ideeën in mijn hoofd, maar ik kan ze niet fatsoenlijk uitwerken.

Dit komt hoofdzakelijk omdat de ideeën in mijn hoofd mijn dagdromen zijn over wat ik wil. Wat ik wil doen, zien, bereiken. Ik zou hier dolgraag geweldige, interessante blogposts over schrijven. Blogposts that keep you coming back for more.
Maar dat kan ik nu simpelweg niet. De wereld waarin ik leef is alles behalve entertaining.

I want to change this.
Slowly, step by step.

Ik begin nu al met een best grote stap voor mij in mijn leven: Ik ga werken. Ik heb werk gevonden en ga nu mijn eigen geld verdienen. (Ja, ik ben 17 en ik heb nu pas mijn eerste baan, this is a big deal for me) Ik ben ten eerste al heel trots op mezelf dat ik nu echt ga werken voor mijn geld, wat zorgt voor een extraatje, waardoor ik misschien ook kan beginnen met sparen. Maar ik ben hier vooral heel blij mee, omdat dit me uit huis trekt. Onder de mensen brengt. Mijn wereld verbreed.

Grotendeels ben ik dit gaan doen om een begin te maken aan mijn droom: Reizen. Ik wil zo veel dingen zien en doen en meemaken. Dingen die ik dan weer op mijn blog kan documenteren. Werk vinden is al een klein opstapje richting dit doel, en dit maakt mij heel blij.

It's a small step, but it's just what I needed to believe that I can do this. I will get there.

Have a nice life,
Xoxo
Winnie.

P.S. Totdat ik een interessant leven ontwikkel, ben ik bang dat mijn blogposts hoofdzakelijk dit soort blabbing posts zijn waar ik gewoon mijn gedachten eruit gooi en die misschien niet altijd even logisch zijn. But be patient with me. I know it's a lot to ask, but I want to change this. And I will.

Monday, 7 October 2013

Music makes the world go round.

In mijn vorige blog zei ik al dat een week van opdrachten afmaken voor mij onder andere bestaat uit het luisteren van heel veel muziek. Nu ben ik over het algemeen een persoon die best wel vast houd aan de things she knows and loves, als het om muziek gaat. Ik vind het lastig nieuwe bands te luisteren die ik niet ken, niet wetend of ik de muziek leuk ga vinden, omdat ik bang ben dat het niets word en die tijd had ik kunnen besteden aan het luisteren van goede muziek. (I wish I was kidding) Maar af en toe kom ik toch we wat juweeltjes tegen, dingen die altijd geweldig zullen blijven, nieuwe dingen die ik voor het eerst hoor, maar ook dingen die ik al lang ken, maar waarvan ik de schoonheid nog nooit eerder heb ingezien.

Ik zet het ff op een rijtje. 

Bastille - Flaws ~Love, Forever Love~
Spotify: Bastille – Flaws

Ocean Grove - Human Race ~So Happy I found this~
Spotify: Ocean Grove – Human Race


Kimbra - Sally I can see you ~Why didn't I hear this before?!~
Spotify: Kimbra – Sally I Can See You

Arctic Monkeys - AM (Album) ~You can't just choose one song~
Spotify: Arctic Monkeys – AM

Listen, and enjoy.

Have a nice life
Xoxo,
Winnie.

Saturday, 5 October 2013

Deadline City.

So here we are. Deadline City. The time it all comes down to. 

Na weken keihard werken aan de opdrachten van verschillende vakken, moet je het afmaken. Helemaal. Product finetunen en uitvoeren, ondersoek uitwerken, printen, bundelen. Alles netjes maken en klaar om in te leveren. Not an easy task. 
Aan het einde van een periode komt opeens alles bij elkaar. Je moet bijna alles tegelijk doen, zo voelt het bijna. Door de periode heen voelt het alsof je nog zeeën van tijd hebt, maar dan opeens is hij er: de lastste week. En dan moet je maar weer kijken hoe je je er doorheen slaat.

Voor mij betekend dit deze keer vooral: Veel, Heel Veel muziek, weinig slaap en plannen, plannen, plannen. En dan is het vooral zaak dat ik me aan die planning houd, een taak die ook nog niet altijd even makkelijk is. Want een aflevering Gossio Girl er ff tussendoor gooien klinkt toch wel heel goed. 
Nee. Niet deze week. Geen Gossip Girl voor Winnie. Dat was mijn regel. Deze week gaat over school. Alles moet af. Alles moet perfect zijn, al gaat dat helemaal niet.
En dan komt het loslaten. Nee, het is niet perfect. Maar het is goed genoeg voor wat ik kan. Het is goed genoeg voor deze opdracht. Ja. Nee. Ja. Ja! Kom nou, maak het nou af.
Mijn hoofd slaat op hol. Alles bij elkaar. 

Maar als je dan iedere dag weer alle tasks die je voor die dag had gesteld kunt afvinken, voelt dat toch weer ongelooflijk goed. En als je dan uiteindelijk alles op tijd en heel mooi (jammer genoeg niet perfect) kunt inleveren, is alles weer goed. En is die drukke week toch nog ergens goed voor geweest. 
En kom je weer tot rust.

Tot de volgende periode natuurlijk, want dan is het weer vol anem.

Have a nice life,
Xoxo
Winnie.