Wednesday, 3 September 2014

Sziget '14 | 10-day journal.

>DISCLAIMER this is probably going to be a very long post. It is litterally going to be my diary from Sziget. I'm not expecting this to entertain you in any way. This is more just for me to look back to in some time. This blog makes it a bit more easy to find. So if you're not looking for a gigantic 11-day diary blog post, happily scroll along. Thank you, Love you Bye!<


8-08 / 9:51 PM
As I'm writing this, I'm in the Sziget Express, on my way to Budapest. We're in a cabin for 6 passengers, together with 3 other girls. It's quite fun, to be honest. I'm blessed with a window seat, which gives me the ability to close of from everything with some Arctic Monkeys, while gazing out of the window to for example the sunset. I'm pretty happy. The only thing I really crave right now is a bed. A bed in which I can lie down. Right now we're in train seats which means you have to do something between sitting up and lying down, which my back and neck aren't enjoying very much.
Apart from that I'm good. I have food, I have water, I have IceTea and I can sleep. Tomorrow we'll arrive in Budapest. Monday the madness will start.
I'm so scared. But so excited.
Xoxo

9-08 / 7:35 PM
The train journey ended today. We found out we could flatten out the seats, to create one big sleeping platform. The night was spent spooning my friends, trying to get some sleep while the night went by slowly. Very slowly.
After walking and traveling through Budapest on our way to out appartment, we could finally drop off the horendous, heavy, warm backpacks and have a shower. When we felt fresh again we decided to go into Budapest and explore.
Budapest is a beautifull city. Of course the few hours we can spend around here are far from enough to really explore, but it is enough to know that this is a place to come back to.
Now I'm looking forward to a nice night's sleep in a double bed, before landing on our camping beds. Tomorrow we're planning to visit a spa ~since we purchased 'city passes', that allow us to travel public transport for free and visit a spa for free~ after we put up our tent on a ~hopefully~ good spot at the camping. One more chance to relax before starting the adventure that is a 7-day festival.
Xoxo

10-08 / 11:52 PM
What. A. Day. Today we moved from our ~amazing, amazing~ appartment to the Sziget Festival site. After about half an hour in line finally got in and searched for a good spot at the camping. We put our tent nicely underneath a tree, so it will catch as much shade as possible and went out again for a spa. The spa was such a good idea. Just relaxing, swimming, cooling down before starting the festival madness. On our way back we visited a supermarket, since we'll be here for 7 days and we figured we need some supplies for that.
The festival is filled with dutch people. Almost everywhere you go, someone dutch crosses your way. It's insane. It does cause some nice and fun conversations, though, since everyone around here is sp nice and layed back. Everyone feels good and is happy. The atmosphere around here is amazing.
Sziget at night is amazing too, btw. When we got back from the supermarket we went for a walk to explore the island a bit and is't amazing. Right now it's a bit less crowded, since most arrives tomorrow, so some stores are still setting up and getting ready to start this festival.
Everything is just so nice here. So pretty as well, with fairylights everywhere and other nice decorations.
I love it here, allready.
Xoxo

11-08 / 5:26 PM
Back in the tent for a moment. Absolutely knackered. Since today would be the hottest day and the acts we want to see only start at 5:45, we wanted to go to 'Sziget Beach'. This ended up to be very, very dissapointing. Not really any beach. A lot of fences. Not as nice and relaxing as we expected. So we went out and explored the part of the island we hadn't seen yesterday. I bought a hat, as i kind of need it in the sun and warmth that should be coming. We also payed a visit to the 'official mervhandising store' to spend some more money. This time it was on a Sziget top. Very very nice.
So now we're back in the tent. We had some downtime and are now getting ready to go to The 1975. For us, the start of the music festival.
Xoxo

11:21 PM
We saw our first bands today. The festival has started. This is so exciting. It's just so nice to be here. Very happy.
In bed early again. I guess we're not very good at partying...
Xoxo

12-08 / 5:03 PM
Today our acts, again, start at 6, so we had the whole start of the day to ourselves. We started by going grocery shopping again, in a store that was com-plete-ly filled witg Szitizens, I don't think I've ever seen a grocery store that crowded. Then we decided to just chill somewhere on the festival site. We layed in the grass for about 2 hours, just enjoying the vieuw, the atmosphere and the music in the background.
Today also was the day to take a shower. It wasn't the best shower I've ever taken, of course, but it feels pretty nice to be clean for a second. My legs are smooth again, my hair isn't greasy anymore and for a moment, I don't have a layer of grease and filth all over my body. I don't think this feeling is going to last very long, but it's nice as long as it's there. Now it's time to enjoy some music again.
Xoxo

8:09 PM
A Day To Remember was amazing. I listen far from enough to their music, but there are a few songs I really like so I really wanted to go to their show. That show made me realise how good they are and what a shame it is i don't listen to them enough. I enjoyed myself A LOT. Marieke and I decided to not leave for the 'balloon party' since there were some really good songs yet to come. They were so good.
After that we went to Queens of the Stone Age. It was ok. Marieke and I stayed for about 20 minutes and then went back to the tent (sorry mom).
Tonight we have Jimmy Eat World on our planning. I know literally one of their songs, so I hope they make it interesting enough for me to stay. A Day To Remember did. Queens of thd Stone Age didn't. (Sorry mom)
Xoxo

13-08 / 1:05 AM
There was a chance we could see a meteor shower. But we didn't see anything. It was cloudy and they left all the lights on. Such a shame.
Xoxo

9:41 PM
I bungee jumped today. I did it. I can't even believe it yet. This is so not me. But it was so amazing. After that we went to Imagine Dragons, after which I almost got squashed because they were handing out flags for a 'flag party'. It was hell on earth. But, Marieke did manage to get 2 flags, so it wasn't all for nothing (I could have one).
Now I'm back in the tent, after finding out I completely underestimated Tom Odell, who can apparently manage to fill the tent and have a lot of people still watch him on the screens outside.
At the moment Skrillex is playing, which causes the whole ground to shake. I'm still contemplating going to take a look at that as well.
But I Bungee Jumped. I think it was one of the most amazing things I've ever done. So surreal.
Xoxo

14-08 / 4:24 PM
This morning we spent 3 hours sitting on the floor in a (massive) grocery store to charge our phones. We went in, bought some breakfast and sat down to charge. Very eventful. But it wasn't such a bad idea to do it today, since it has been raining all day. And it's quite cold. Bad day, I guess. But I would say the perfect day to spend a few hours on the floor outside a grocery store. Now Anne and I are back in the tent, whilst Marieke and Yvet are getting some souvenirs for the homefront. When they're back, I'm going to have to pull myself together, put my poncho on and go outside again as well. Because today is Bastille day. I need to see them. Rain or no rain. Same with Macklemore & Ryan Lewis. But a bit of relaxing time is far from bad, since it's starting to get harder. 7 days of festival is long. Very long. And it really is starting to break in. I slept very, very deeply last night and I can't even think of going to the front of the croud at this stage. I probably couldn't manage. But I'm still having fun. There is no 30 Seconds to Mars or Arctic Monkeys, whom I would have to see front stage. I've seen Bastille up close before, so now I'm fine with just seeing and most of all hearing them play.
I'm so tired, I kind of just want to sleep at this point. But I'm trying to forget about that. Now I'm here. At Sziget. In Hungary. I'm not going to let some exhaustion spoil the fun for me. So I push through. Try to ignore the tiredness and just have fun and enjoy the music and the art. It really is amazing here.
Xoxo

11:56 PM
Fucking Bastille and Fucking Macklemore&Ryan Lewis! Shit today was amazing. I had been looking forward to these two and it was so increadibly worth it. They were increadibly Amazing. So happy and pumped right now.
Xoxo

15-08 / 5:16 PM
Today isn't a very good music day for us. So we are just having a nice relaxed day. We layed down on the grass for quite a while and went to take the most random picture in existance (I know, cringe, 'random' but wait 'till you see it. This is the equivilent of random)
Before all that we went to the Luminarium. This is a balloon-ish building thing that you can walk through and it's really pretty with colours and corridors and light. And it was amazing. So beautiful. I hope my disposible camera took some pictures that will do this artwork justice, so I can show everyone how fantastic it was.
I still can't get over how amazing yesterday was. Bastille was so beautiful and I had the best night with Macklemore&Ryan Lewis. Love.
Xoxo

8:47 PM
We're the worst festival people ever. Here we are, back in our tent, feeling like it's midnight and not wanting to go anywhere. But in our defence: it is the 5th day of a 7 day festival. You try and stay up 'till 2 AM every night and tell me how you did. Some of you probably could do that and we just suck at this, but that's the only thing that can make me feel better about myself.
Tomorrow is a bit more exciting, music wise, which should help. Tomorrow also is the colour party, which I'm looking forward to as I gave no idea what to expect and I think it could be fun.
But for now we're tired. And it's not even 9 PM. Sigh.
Xoxo

16-08 / 1:58 PM
We're. So. Tired. We can't help it. We went to the supermarket one last time to get some supplies and stuff to eat and drink on the traintrip home. And now we're exhausted. Here we are again, laying in our tent, not wanting to move. 7 days is long. Maybe too long. But it's just 2 more days we'll pull through. Today there are some gigs we want to go to so I think that should wake us up.
We're at Sziget. We can't go and just be lazy all day. Now we're here. Now we have to do shit. We can sleep when we get home. Fuck, we can sleep on the way back. But now we have to enjoy all this first. Now we can.
Xoxo

7:19 PM
I really hope the pictures of the Colour Party work out. We decided not to go into it, but rather take pictures. So we found a nice spot with a good vieuw over the crowd an waited. Of course just before tge colours went up some girl with a fluorescent pink top climbed on someones shoulders, right in front of us, spoiling the vieuw, but I hope it still looks nice. It looked nice in person, it only is such a shame all the colours mix in one weird beigey colour. But it was cool to see. Maybe I'll one day stand in the middle of something like that, but not today. Not when I can't take a very, very long shower without 20 other girls around me and a shower you have to put back on every 30 seconds. It's ok to make sure you feel a little clean through a festival week, but not after you've had coloured powder thrown all over you.
Tonight is the Prodigy, of whom I want to see something, since I've heard they're good and at 12 AM Cristal Fighters play, but I'm not so sure about that...
Xoxo

17-08 / 7:54 PM
The exhaustion has gotten the best of me today. We spent most of our day in our tent. I couldn't even think about facing the crowds without a goal of where I was going to. So we waited 'till it was finally the time The Kooks started playing, with sometimes getting out to go to the bathroom or going out to take our phone to the charging place. Not the best way to think about your last Sziget day, but I just couldn't. Tomorrow we're going back home. I have to take care of the money that is still on my card, make sure I get it back and then we can leave. Finally go home. 7 days is long.
Xoxo

18-08 / 12:53 PM
We're in the train. Going home. Finally. Don't get me wrong, I loved Sziget and I feel very fortunate for being able to go there, but you know that feeling when you're really tired and you know it won't be long 'till you go home? Yeah, that's what I had. And still have. I'm in the train now and it can't go fast enough. Now I just want to be home and sleep comfortably.
Yesterday I did end up getting out of the tent for some music, though. We went to see The Cooks, who I really liked. We kind of also planned going to Outkast, but we ended up just listening to that from our tent whilst tidying up and packing as much as we could.
But after that we did pull ourselves together to go to Calvin Harris, the end show of Sziget 2014. I quite liked it. Sadly, though, Marieke and Yvet wanted to leave early, resulting in us missing the end with all the fireworks. Would have loved to see that.
But that doesn't change the fact that I had an Amazing, Amazing week and that I'm so, so happy I made the choice to go here. A week to charish forever.
Xoxo

No comments:

Post a Comment